“5150” – Refers to Section 5150 of California’s Welfare & Institutions Code (part of the LPS Act), which authorizes involuntary commitment to a psychiatric facility. It allows only certain designated professionals to initiate commitment of an individual in a psychiatric emergency for involuntary 72-hour treatment and evaluation. It is often referred to simply as a “5150”

AC / AlaCo – Alameda County

ACBHCS – AlaCo Behavioral Health Care Services, part of AlaCo Health Care Services Agency (aka Behavioral Health Care Services (BHCS)

ACCESS – Acute Crisis Care & Evaluation for System-Wide Services, our county-wide evaluation & referral system

ACT – Assertive Community Treatment

AOD – Alcohol and Other Drug Services

BHCIP – Behavioral Health Continuum Infrastructure Program

BHCS – Behavioral Health Care Services (Dept. of the AlaCo Health Care Services Agency (aka ACBHCS)

BOS – Board of Supervisos.

CalWORKs – California Work Opportunity & Responsibility to Kids

CAO – County Administrators Office

CARE Court/Act – Community Assistance, Recovery and Empowerment Act

CCE – Community Care Expansion

CFT – Capital Facilities and Technology

CGF – County General Fund

COLA – Cost Of Living Allowance or Adjustment

CBO – Community-Based Organization

CONREP– Conditional Release Program

CRT – Community Rehabilitation & Treatment (depending on context, may mean Crisis Response Team, Cognitive Remediation Therapy

CSU – Crisis Stabilization Unit

DHS – State of California, Department of Health Services

DMC – Drug Medi-Cal

DMH – State of California, Department of Mental Health

EPSDT – Early Periodic Screening Diagnosis and Treatment (Federal Medicaid/California Medi-Cal).

FDG – Family Dialogue Group

FERC – Family Education and Resource Center 

FSP – Full Service Partnership

GA – General Assistance. Financial support for eligible adults with no other means of support.

HCSA – Health Care Services Agency (Alameda County)

IHOT – In Home Outreach Teams

IMD – Institution for Mental Disease

IST – Incompetent to Stand Trial

LPS / Lanterman Petris-Short Act (codified in the California Welfare & Institutions Code sections 5000 et.seq.)

LGBTQQI2-S – collectively to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Queer, Questioning, Transgender, Intersex, & 2 spirited individuals/communities.

MAA – Medi-Cal Administrative Activities

MFCC – Marriage Family and Child Counselor

MDO / MDSO – Mentally Disordered Offenders / Mentally Disordered Sex Offenders

Medi-Cal FFP – Federal Financial Participation – 50% ratio as of 2011.

MHP / MHS – Mental Health Plan / Mental Health Services

MHAB – Alameda County’s  Mental Health Advisory Board to the Board of Supervisors

MHSA – Mental Health Services Act (of 2004 aka “Prop 63”)

MHSOAC – Mental Health Services Oversight & Accountability Commission

MOU – Memorandum of Understanding

NAMI – National Alliance  on Mental Illness

NIMH – National Institutes of Mental Health

NNA – Net Negotiated Amount (usually but sometimes inappropriately used for County funding)

PEI – Prevention and Early Intervention.

PES – Psychiatric Emergency Services

PGO – Public Guardian’s Office

PHF– Psychiatric Hospital Facility

PSC – Personal Services Coordinator

PSN – Parolee Services Network

RFP – Request For Proposal

SACPA – Substance Abuse Crime Prevention Act (Prop 36)

SAMHSA – Substance Abuse Mental Health Services Administration (Federal Agency)

SAPT – Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment.

SDFSC – Safe & Drug Free Schools & Communities Grant (substance abuse prevention activities for schools) 

SED – Serious Emotional Disturbance.

SGF – State General Fund

SNF- Skilled Nursing Facility

SMI – Severe Mental Illness

SPMI – Severe and Persistent Mental Illness

SRJ – Santa Rita Jail

SSA – Social Security Administration

SSDI – Social Security Disability Insurance

SSI – Supplemental Security Income

SUD -Substance Use Disorder 

TBS – Therapeutic Behavioral Services

TAY – Transition Age Youth

WET – Workforce Education and Training. This is one of the funding categories under the MHSA.FERCferc- /